Tuesday, June 3, 2008

CFDA's BIG Winners

Alas, the ball is over and the winners have been announced for the 2008 CFDA Awards, which were held last night at New York's Public Library. {see list full list below of the nights big winners} The controversial Tom Ford won menswear designer of the year, while in the accessories department, Tory Burch took home the statue instead of three time winner Marc Jacobs and five time nominees Michael Kors {is it just me or is he the next Susan Lucci, remember almost only counts in horseshoes}. Meanwhile Francisco Costa {for Calvin Klein} beat out Marc Jacobs, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Womenwear.

In grand style, as always, the CFDA paid homage to legendary couturier Yves Saint Laurent, who succumbed to brain cancer in his home early Sunday morning. Among last nights attendees Ashley Olsen looked stunning in a a smoking suit- reminiscent of YSL's creations- from Calvin Klein's 2008 resort collection and CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg had some of her own private YSL collection flown to her from her home overseas just to wear her black vintage YSL jacket. With Naomi Campbell sporting a few items form the most recent YSL collection, we all know that while he was not in physical attendance this year, he was defiantly sitting there in spirit.

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year:
Tory Burch

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Philip Crangi

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award:
Carolina Herrera

The Board of Director's Special Tribute:
Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg

International Award:
Dries Van Noten

Eugenia Sheppard Award:
Style.com's Candy Pratts Price

**Image courtesy of Getty Images